stufforama

Is it just soup?

Posted in marketing by Tony C on September 2, 2008

Many of us I’m guessing would deny that the reason why we buy certain items is because of power brand especially with things we more than likely take for granted like the humble can of soup.  I recently discovered that the famous Campbell’s brand is being dropped in the UK after being unable to track it down in my local supermarket where horror of horrors I’m told it’s being subsumed by Premier Foods fellow brand Bachelors.  This got me thinking about how much I identify with the Campbell’s brand but feel no such attachment to the usurper, but more importantly got me questioning why?  I can hear some of you already thinking, “Tony it’s just soup…who cares?”  And you’re right…it is just soup and the product in one tin will be identical to the other, only the label, the ephemeral has changed.  It’s just not rational to feel this way towards a brand…but I do.  This is the conundrum facing marketing types since the process was given a name.  How do we get people to connect with our products and services in a way that is and let’s be frank irrational?

If anyone from Premier Foods Marketing Dept ever reads this can they let me know.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ports said, on September 25, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    I somehow don’t think Andy Warhol would have painted the new version!

  2. julie williams said, on September 17, 2009 at 11:09 am

    i have tasted that condensed soup and it doent taste nice. yukkk!


Leave a Reply

