stufforama

I was never that good at maths

Posted in Cars, Do what? by Tony C on December 6, 2006

Big and blue...

I’ve had the Mondeo for almost a year now so I’ve just taken it back to LS Eaves, the oldest and smallest Ford franchise in the UK, who proved once again what a great dealer they are.  This time it was oil change, brake fluid replacement and the usual check up and came to £237, this includes labour, parts and the dreaded VAT.

This got me thinking as I compare the experince of owning a Ford with that of owning a BMW as I can’t make the maths work.  I never managed to escape from a BMW dealer without being at the very least £400 lighter, often much much more and it seems the only explaination is the badge glued to the front and rear of the car.  Are BMW technicians two or three times better than those at Ford?  Are BMWs two or three times more sophisticated than their Ford equivalents? Are BMWs two or three times more difficult to work on?  No, no and no would be my guess.  So why is it two or three times more expensive to get a BMW serviced than a Ford?

No. I don’t know either.

Leave a Reply

